During their visit to the John Innes Centre, speakers of the named lectures are given the opportunity to have their portrait done by Professor Enrico Coen FRS. The portraits are a memento of their lecture and visit.

Below you can see all portraits of the speakers, and you can click on them to see them in more detail.

The Bateson Lecture

Ottoline Leyser 2013 Philip Benfy 2011 Sean Carroll 2008 Thomas Steitz 2003   Elliot Meyerowitz 2002

2013 Ottoline Leyser


2011 Philip Benfey

View website

2008 Sean Carroll

View website

2003 Thomas Steitz

View website

2002 Elliot Meyerowitz

View website

The Biffin Lecture

  Lord May 2015 Sarah Hake 2012   Susan McCouch 2009   Rob Martienssen 2008

2016 Edward Buckler

View website

2015 Lord Robert May

View website

2012 Sarah Hake

View website

2009 Susan McCouch


2008 Robert Martienssen

View website

Dick Flavell 2006 Michael Freeling 2004 Steve Tanksley 2003 Francesco Salamini 2002 John Doebly 2001

2006 Dick Flavell

2004 Michael Freeling


2003 Steve Tanksley

View Website

2002 Francesco Salamini

2001 John Doebley

View website

The Chatt Lecture

  Timothy richmond 2008   Jack Baldwin 2006   Doug Rees 2004   Steve Lippard 2003   Tom Blundell 2002

2008 Timothy Richmond

2006 Jack Baldwin

2004 Doug Rees

2003 Steve Lippard

2002 Tom Blundell 

Robert Huber 2000

2000 Robert Huber

The Darlington Lecture

Detlef Wiegel 2015 Sue Wessler Frank Grosveld Nick Cozarelli Kim Nasmyth  

2015 Detlef Weigel

View website

2007 Sue Wessler


2005 Frank Grosveld


2004 Nick Cozzarelli


2002 Kim Nasmyth

View Website



Alec Jeffries

2001 Alec Jeffreys











The Hopwood Lecture

Bonnie Bassler 2013 Thomas Silhavy 2007 Carol Gross 2006 Susan Gottesman

2017 Julian Parkhill

View website

2013 Bonnie Bassler

View website 

2007 Thomas Silhavy

View website

2006 Carol Gross

View website

2005 Susan Gottesman

View website

Lucy Shapiro 2003 Karl stetter 2002 Ira herskowitz 2001

2003 Lucy Shapiro

View website 

2002 Karl Stetter

View website

2001 Ira Herskowitz












The Haldane Lecture

Michael Lynch 2014   Simon Levin 2011   Herbert Jaekcle 2007   Bruce Stillman 2006

2017 Eske Willerslev

View website

2014 Michael Lynch


2011 Simon Levin

View website

2007 Herbert Jaeckle


2006 Bruce Stillman

View website

Pat brown 2004 Sydney Brenner 2003 Tim mitchison 2002 J M-S 2001

2004 Pat Brown 

View website

2003 Sydney Brenner

View website

2002 Tim Mitchison


2001 John Maynard-Smith












The Woolhouse Lecture

Julian Schroeder 2012 Mark Estelle 2011 George coupland 2008 Joe Ecker 2006

2016 Martin Yanofsky

View website

2012 Julian Schroeder

View website

2011 Mark Estelle

View website

2008 George Coupland

View website

2006 Joe Ecker

View website

Chris somerville 2005 Nam-Hui Chua 2004 Joanne Chory 2003 Winslow briggs 2004 Maarten Koornneef

2005 Chris Somerville

2004 Nam-Hai Chua

View website

2003 Joanne Chory

2001 Winslow Briggs

2000 Maarten Koornneef

JIC Cookie Policy. We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to set cookies. You can find out more about the cookies by clicking here.

Accept cookies