CSB Seminars

Computational & Systems Biology Seminar Programme

Please see below the CSB seminar series currently scheduled for 2016/17.

These seminars are open to all at the Norwich Research Park.

Please note that all seminars are held on a Tuesday in the Biffen Annexe, Seminar Room 117 at 15:30hrs unless otherwise indicated.

 

DATE

SPEAKER

SEMINAR TITLE

NOVEMBER

   

Tuesday 22 November

Martin Hinsch

Why are bots bad at being cells?

Tuesday 29 November

Giuseppe Facchetti

POSTPONED

     

DECEMBER

   

Tuesday 6 November

Sotta Naoyuki

Do apolar transporters facilitate polar transport?

Tuesday 13 December

Hugh Woolfenden

A computational approach for inferring the cell wall properties that govern guard cell dynamics

Tuesday 20 December

No Seminar

Christmas Holiday

Tuesday 27 December

No Seminar

Christmas Holiday

 

 

 

JANUARY

 

 

Tuesday 3 January

No Seminar

Christmas Holiday

Tuesday 10 January

No Seminar

 

Tuesday 17 January

Professor Vincent Jansen

School of Biological Sciences, Royal Holloway, University of London

The Evolution of Sex-specific Virulence in Infectious Diseases

Tuesday 24 January

No Seminar

 

Tuesday 31 January

No Seminar

 

     

FEBRUARY

   

Tuesday 7 February

John Fozard

Advanced painting by numbers: segmenting curved cell layers

Tuesday 14 February

Jitender Cheema

Algorithms for comparing RNA secondary structures

Tuesday 21 February

Ross Carter

Investigating topology in developing leaves
Tuesday 28 February Marc Jones Redundancy, Subfunctionalization and Neofunctionalization in the Gene Regulatory Network Underlying Flowering in Brassica napus
     

MARCH

   

Tuesday 7 March

G34/35 (JIC Conference Centre)

Teresa Vas Martins Cameleon spikes
Tuesday 14 March Nadiatul Radzman How do roots deal with changing nitrate?
Tuesday 21 March Melissa Tomkins The leafhopper effect: how leafhopper-phytoplasma interactions drive large-scale patterns of infection
Tuesday 28 March Martin Trick Generating hybrid assemblies from mixed Illumina and Nanopore data
     

APRIL

   
Tuesday 4 April Tjelvar Sten Gunnar Olsson POSTPONED
Tuesday 11 April No Seminar Easter Holiday
Tuesday 18 April No Seminar Easter Holiday
Tuesday 25 April Rea Antoniou-Kourounioti Multiple temperature inputs control the memory of winter
     

MAY

   
Tuesday 2 May No Seminar  
Tuesday 9 May

No Seminar

 
Tuesday 16 May Anmol Hemron

Galaxy for Everyone!

Tuesday 23 May Tyler McCleery Auxin, branching, and a cheap DIY root-on-a-chip: Using biophysical modelling and microfluidics to study root system architecture
Tuesday 30 May No Seminar Privilege Holiday & School Half Term
     

JUNE

   
Tuesday 6 June No Seminar  
Tuesday 13 June Matthew Couchman Creating Reproducible Infrastructure Using Ansible
Tuesday 20 June No Seminar  
Tuesday 27 June Giuseppe Facchetti

Does cell size control in fission yeast implement a “good” or a “bad” sizer?

     

JULY

   
Tuesday 4 July   To Be Advised
Tuesday 11 July  Tjelvar Olsson  Building moving castles: Scaling our analyses from laptops to supercomputers 
Tuesday 18 July    To Be Advised 
Tuesday 25 July Matthew Hartley To Be Advised
     
     

JIC Cookie Policy. We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to set cookies. You can find out more about the cookies by clicking here.

Accept cookies