PCGIN Team and Partners

The scientific and dissemination activities of the Pulse Crop Genetic Improvement Network (PCGIN) are coordinated through a management team, led by the John Innes Centre.

The academic research partners of the network include the John Innes Centre, NIAB, the University of Reading, Aberystwyth University and the Processors and Growers Research Organisation (PGRO).

The commercial sector within the stakeholder base (~250 members) provides input to the activities of PCGIN through its industrial representatives. Representation on the current PCGIN management team is shown below.

Stakeholder involvement has been instrumental in defining and prioritising traits for genetic improvement.

Core scientific research underpinning pulse crop genetics is carried out by academic partners in projects that combine plant phenotypic and performance assessment with the development of genetic tools.

Resources developed within PCGIN for the genetic study of agronomic and seed quality traits are being used to establish the genetic basis for traits that are relevant to UK pulse breeding, farming and end-user industries.

PCGIN management team

  • Professor Claire Domoney, JIC
  • Dr Sanu Arora, JIC
  • Dr Tom Wood, NIAB
  • Professor Donal O’Sullivan, University of Reading
  • Dr Catherine Howarth, Aberystwyth University
  • Dr Dhan Bhandari, Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board (AHDB)
  • Dr Noam Chayut, JIC
  • Steve Belcher, PGRO
  • Dr Simon Berry, Limagrain
  • Rebecca Gibson, Agrii
  • Mark Nightingale, Elsoms Seeds
  • Dr David Lloyd, Germinal Horizon
  • Edina Kare, LS Plant Breeding
  • Dr Helen Riordan, Defra

Contact PCGIN

John Innes Centre,
Norwich Research Park,
NR4 7UH,