A Warm Welcome to Three New Members of the Governing Council

The Governing Council of the John Innes Centre has been strengthened with the appointment of three new members. We are thrilled to welcome Professor Jane Langdale, Professor Julian Hibberd and Professor Mark Searcey to the institute.

Sir Thomas Hughes-Hallett, Chair of the John Innes Centre’s Governing Council, said: “I am delighted to welcome the new members to bolster the multi-skilled team that advises and guides the institute and aims to suggest fresh, new ideas.”

The Governing Council oversees and reviews the management and achievements of the institute and, alongside the Director, has responsibility for developing the long-term vision. The new members bring the membership of the Governing Council to 10 people.

Sir Thomas Hughes-Hallett continues, “We are confident that the diverse expertise and leadership qualities of Jane, Julian, and Mark will significantly contribute to the John Innes Centre’s mission of addressing global challenges in agriculture, health, and the environment through pioneering research.”

Join us in welcoming Professor Jane Langdale, Professor Julian Hibberd and Professor Mark Searcey to the Governing Council of the John Innes Centre.

  • Professor Jane Langdale FRS brings a wealth of expertise in plant developmental biology. With an illustrious career at the University of Oxford, where she has made significant contributions to our understanding of plant evolution and development, Jane’s insights and experience will be invaluable as we continue to push the frontiers of plant science.
  • Professor Julian Hibberd is internationally recognised for his pioneering research on photosynthetic efficiency in crops. Based at the University of Cambridge, Julian’s work focuses on the mechanisms and evolution of C4 photosynthesis. A better understanding of these processes could improve crop yields and resilience.
  • Professor Mark Searcey is renowned for his work in chemical biology and drug discovery. Currently serving as a leading figure at the University of East Anglia, Mark’s innovative research and leadership in interdisciplinary collaborations will be crucial as we expand our research initiatives and foster new partnerships.

Over the past year, two members of the Governing Council have stepped down after serving six years. The Chair thanked John Innes and Jennifer Midura Heywood for their commitment and vital contributions over the years.

More News Stories

  • News

    Baroness Manningham-Buller appointed as Honorary Advisor

    Baroness Eliza Manningham-Buller, a former Director General of the UK Security Service, MI5, and the first female Chair of the Wellcome Trust, has been appointed as an honorary advisor to the John Innes Centre’s Governing Council. Eliza rose to public prominence as the Director General of MI5, in October 2002 and retired from the role...

    Read the story