Awards & Achievements

Researchers at the John Innes Centre are regularly recognised for their contributions to the plant science research community, both nationally and internationally. 

Recent Awards

Professor Claire Domoney awarded an MBE - 17 June 2017

Professor Sarah O'Connor elected into EMBO - 16 June 2017

Professor Graham Moore and University of Bristol’s Professor Keith Edwards jointly awarded the 2018 Rank Prize in Nutrition - 27 April 2017

Jemima Brinton awarded Monogram Early Career Award - 19 April 2017

Professor Allan Downie awarded Adam Kondorosi prize for Plant Sciences - 7 April 2017

Professor Cathie Martin awarded Fellowship from the American Society of Plant Biologists - 5 April 2017

Professor Rob Field in collaboration with UEA scientists awarded the Longitude Prize Discovery Award - 22 November 2016

Professor Caroline Dean awarded the Darwin Medal by the Royal Society - 19 July 2016

Professor Enrico Coen awarded the Waddington Medal from the British Society for Developmental Biology - 11 April 2016

Professor Enrico Coen awarded Royal Society's premier Croonian Medal - 21 July 2015

Dr Claire Domoney awarded Royal Agricultural Society of England 2015 Medal - 10 June 2015

Professor Caroline Dean wins prestigious Women in Science Award - 14 January 2015

Honours medal for ash dieback discovery & action - 31 December 2014

Future Leader Fellows at the John Innes Centre - 19 December 2014

BBSRC Excellence in Bioscience Award for Caroline Dean - 30 October 2014

Professor George Lomonossoff has been named as the recipient of the 2015 Colworth Prize Lecture - 29 October 2014


Honorary awards

Professor Mervyn Bibb receives honorary degree from University of Lorraine - 30 September 2015

Fellows of the Royal Society

In total, 27 John Innes Centre researchers (including Alumni) have been elected as fellows of the Royal Society. Fellows are elected through a peer review process, with only the most eminent scientists being awarded for excellence in their field.

Current Researchers

Alison Smith - Elected 2016

Mike Bevan - Elected 2013

Mervyn Bibb - Elected 2013

Keith Chater - Elected 1995

Enrico Coen - Elected 1998

Caroline Dean - Elected 2004

Ray Dixon - Elected 1999

Sir David Hopwood - Elected 1979

Dale Sanders - Elected 2001



William Bateson - Elected 1894

Joseph Chatt - Elected 1961

L F La Cour - Elected 1970

M B Crane - Elected 1947

C D Darlington - Elected 1941

John Robert Stanley Fincham - Elected 1969

Richard B Flavell - Elected 1998

Mike Gale - Elected 1996

JBS Haldane - Elected 1932

Sir A D Hall - Elected 1909

Nick Harberd - Elected 2009

Jeffrey Barry Harborne - Elected 1995

Chris Lamb - Elected 2008

Dan Lewis - Elected 1955

K Mather - Elected 1949

Roy Markham - Elected 1956

John Postgate - Elected 1977

Ralph Riley - Elected 1967

Nikolai Ivanovich Vavilov - Elected 1942 



BBSRC Innovators of the Year

Professor Cathie Martin & Dr Eugenio Butelli being given their Most Promising Innovators award by BBSRC Chief Executive Jackie Hunter John Innes Centre researchers were awarded at BBSRC's Innovator of the Year awards in 2010, 2012 and 2014.

In 2010, John Innes Centre alumnus Dr Michael McArthur was awarded the Most Promising Innovator award for his work on commercializing a new antibiotic to combat drug-resistant infections. 

In 2012, Professor George Lomonossoff and PhD student Frank Sainsbury was named Overall Innovators of the Year for his research on protein expression in plants.

In 2014, Professor Cathie Martin and Dr Eugenio Butelli were names Most Promising Innovators for their development of purple tomatoes, containing the health benefits of blueberries.

In 2017, Dr Cristobal Uuay was shortlisted for Innovator of the Year for pioneering work in wheat breeding.

Society of Experimental Biology President's Medals

Awarded annually to young scientists of outstanding merit

Dr Cristobal Uauy - 2014

Dr Veronica Grieneisen - 2011


John Innes Centre researchers are regularly recognised through the Honours system, with 14 current and former JIC scientists receiving this recognition


Current Researchers:

Sir David Hopwood - 1994

Dame Caroline Dean OBE - 2016



Current Researchers:

Enrico Coen - 2002



Richard Flavell - 1999
Chris Lamb - 2009


Current Researchers:

Caroline Dean - 2004

Alison Smith - 2006

D. Roy Davies - 1995
Phil Dale - 2006
Keith Roberts - 2007


Current Researchers:

Cathie Martin - 2013

A. Gavin Brown - 1971
Phil Smith - 2008
Jeni Fox - 2009

British Empire Medal

Current Researchers:

Anne Edwards - 2015


JIC Cookie Policy. We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to set cookies. You can find out more about the cookies by clicking here.

Accept cookies