Molecular Microbiology Department
John Innes Centre, Norwich Research Park, Colney, Norwich, NR4 7UH UK.

The Department uses a holistic approach, integrating cellular physiology and cell imaging with functional genomics, molecular genetics, biochemistry and structural biology to study bacterial metabolism, gene regulation, development and plant-bacterial interactions. The molecular basis of signal transduction in response to various environmental signals and the characterisation of novel transport systems, including mechanisms for transporting folded proteins, are major themes of our work on Gram-negative bacteria. The Department's comprehensive Streptomyces programme on antibiotic production, morphological differentiation and stress responses is underpinned by the newly-acquired genome sequence of the model species S. coelicolor and cutting-edge functional genomics techniques. The Rhizobium-legume symbiosis is another main research area, ranging from bacterial quorum-sensing and plant-bacterial signalling interactions through to the developmental responses of plants to their microbial symbionts. The Department capitalises on JIC's emerging strengths in functional genomics, structural biology and advanced cytological techniques, as well as exploiting novel links between bacterial and plant processes.  The Department makes a major contribution to the wide range of microbiological research that is carried out across the Norwich Research Park, details of which can be found on the "Microbes in Norwich" web site.


Summer School 2007

Department staff were involved in organising the summer school, Lecture Course, "Microbial Genomics and Secondary Metabolites” held at the Mediterranean Institute for Life Sciences (MedILS), Split, Croatia, June 23 – July 1 2007.

To read a report on the 2007 Summer School, click here

To link to the website, click here



Departmental Administrator - Sue Riches (email: sue.riches@bbsrc.ac.uk, Tel:  +44 (0)1603 450719, Fax: +44 (0)1603 450778).

[ Back to JIC Science ]
[ Department Intranet Pages ] - JIC Access Only




Head of Department

Professor Mervyn Bibb (email: mervyn.bibb@bbsrc.ac.uk Tel: +44 (0) 1603 450776)


Associate Head of Department

Professor. Mike Merrick (email: mike.merrick@bbsrc.ac.uk  Tel: +44 (0)1603-450749)


Project Leaders Prof. Mark Buttner (email: mark.buttner@bbsrc.ac.uk Tel: +44 (0)1603 450759) Professor Ray Dixon (email: ray.dixon@bbsrc.ac.uk  Tel: +44 (0)1603-450747) Professor J. Allan Downie (email: allan.downie@bbsrc.ac.uk  Tel: +44 (0)1603 450207) Emeritus Fellows

Professor Keith Chater (email: keith.chater@bbsrc.ac.uk  Tel: +44 (0)1603-450297)

Professor Sir David Hopwood (email: david.hopwood@bbsrc.ac.uk  Tel: +44 (0)1603 450338) Professor Nick Brewin (email: nick.brewin@bbsrc.ac.uk  Tel: +44 (0)1603 450273)


Back to the top